Commended Students in the 2017 National Merit Scholarship Program

ET Students are Commended National Merit Scholars
Posted on 09/23/2016
Commended National Merit Scholars 2016

The principal, C. Michelle Anderson, of Eastern Technical High School announced today that Nicholas Haynes, Ian Krasnansky, Ethan Mortenson, Laiba Saif, John Saquilayan, Rohit Vadarevu,and Mahin Zaman have been named Commended Students in the 20017 National Merit Scholarship Program.  A letter of Commendation from the school and National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC), which conducts the program, was presented by the principal to these scholastically talented seniors.

About 34,000 Commended Students throughout the nation are being recognized for their exceptional academic promise.  Commended Students placed among the top five percent of more than 1.6 million students who entered the 2017 competition by taking the 2015 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT).

“The young men and women being named Commended Students have demonstrated outstanding potential for academic success,” commented a spokesperson for NMSC.  These students represent a valuable national resource; recognizing their accomplishments, as well as the key role their schools play in their academic development, is vital to the advancement of educational excellence in our nation.  We hope that this recognition will help broaden their educational opportunities and encourage them as they continue their pursuit of academic success.”

Pictured left to right:  Nicholas, Ian, Mahin, Principal Anderson, John, Rohit, Ethan.  Not pictured: Laiba.